Warning: Body horror (eyes on the torso, pointed fingers), lots of eyes (they blink)

I did ArtFight this month! It was my first time ever doing ArtFight but I enjoyed it and I'm proud of all the attacks I made!

What is ArtFight? Here is a link to ArtFight's about page but the short answer is that it's a yearly event that lasts for all of July. Everyone's split into two teams based on a theme (this year's was vampires vs werewolves, I was team werewolf) and you "attack" players on the other team by making art of their characters. Every time you make an attack, you're awarded points and whichever team has the most points at the end of the month wins!

Like I said before, I was team werewolf for this ArtFight (Something something, being human yet monstrous, hiding your true self from everyone around you... I really like werewolves, okay?) and I had so much fun! I'm definitely participating in future ArtFights when possible. If you want to check out my profile, here's the link. As of writing this, it's fairly empty because I made it 2 days before ArtFight started but I hope to add more to it so that it's much more filled out for next year. Anyways, I figured I'd share all of the attacks I did this year! I did 7 throughout the course of the month which is way more than I thought I'd get done, if I'm honest! I set a goal at the start of the month to do 4 attacks total but I figured that was setting the bar too high because I can be kind of slow at getting drawings done sometimes. Turns out an event like this is a good motivator! (I would've been like "Who knew?" but I kind of knew this from doing Mechtober and a secret santa last year) Okay, enough procrastination, on to the attacks!

Akito is a vampire wearing an off-white shirt that is open to reveal his chest. He is also wearing a black corset, black skirt with red lining, fishnets and thigh-high boots. Akito has warm brown skin, red wavy hair and brown eyes. He also has a hooked nose and gold eyeliner. He's singing into a microphone. The background is white with yellow squares. The watermark reads Banana-Boots.

This is my first ever ArtFight attack! It was done for Jellybeans and it's of his character Akito! I don't think I fully captured Akito's ✨vibes✨ but that's okay because I think it would've taken more time than I'd like to capture his vibes in my style (getting something to look properly dramatic is hard, you guys An upset-looking emoji.). Fun fact: I actually meant to draw lil music notes above his microphone to indicate that he's singing but I forgot... An upset-looking emoji. Not gonna lie, Akito slightly has the vibes of Julian from the Arcana. That's probably why I was so thoroughly enchanted with him when I saw him. Also, there's something to be said about the first attack I did for vampires vs werewolves being of a vampire.

Hannah has pale skin, shoulder length strawberry blonde hair and brown eyes. She's wearing a purple argyle print jumper and holding up her right hand in a peace sign next to her head. She has purple nails and there are simplistic sparkles and hearts next to her. The background is a muted pink and the watermark reads Banana-Boots.

This attack was done for my mutual monggay! (Here's her Tumblr and days Twitter!) This attack is of eir character Hannah.
I tend to have a wildly fluctuating art style (I embrace it these days An emoji with a content smile.) and for this one I wanted it to look, I don't know, squishy? Round and cute and shiny. I definitely think I nailed it! (Oh and just ignore the fact that I somehow forgot to draw her thumb. Just imagine it's behind her hair, okay?) The colours are super nice on this one An emoji with a lovestruck expression and a heart above its head.

A traditional drawing of the_maNICOtti's OC Neil. Neil has brown skin and a dark brown afro that covers their eyes. He has a septum, hoop earrings and a leaf sticking out from under his hair. They're wearing a green, leaf-patterned shirt with flower buttons. The watermark reads Banana Boots.

This attack was for the_maNICOtti! (Here's his Instagram) This attack is of his character, Neil!
I don't know that I did poor Neil justice, if I'm honest. (The woes of randomly deciding to do that one traditionally despite not having used the medium in literal years An upset-looking emoji.) There's nothing I can do about that, though, so there's no use dwelling on it. Plus, Neil has such a cool design so I can't stay upset for long! Since I'm apparently discussing what character I'm reminded of, they give off the same vibes as Michael from the Magnus Archives (though that could just be because I've got that sweet, sweet TMA brainrot at the moment). Is it weird to draw someone's character for ArtFight multiple times? (On separate years, of course.) Because I'd kind of like to have another shot at drawing Neil but the_maNICOtti and I don't have a social media in common (well, technically, I do use Instagram but it's my personal one for chatting to friends and stuff) so ArtFight is the only time I could do it really.

A gif of the Angel. They're a humanoid figure with long hair that is wearing a skirt and is almost entirely in shadow. They have a stylised eye on their face and many green eyes down their body. They are surrounded by several rings in various colours. On the second one in from the outside are six golden wings and seven green eyes like the ones on their torso. The eyes on their torso and on the outer ring bling out of sync.

This attack was for cobalt-knave and is of their OC, the Angel!
For some reason I decided to try my hand at an animated attack (something about ArtFight has me trying stuff with my art that I wouldn't try normally and I love it). It was a lot of effort (wow, who would've guessed?) and my hand hurt like hell after it was done but this attack turned out so cool! The blinking eyes work really well with their design, I think. They're divine yet alien and unknowable. Not to be obvious but TMA vibes. I mean, it's lots of blinking green eyes. Of course, my brain was going to make that connection. Anyways, I very much enjoyed doing an animation and, while you're not going to catch me doing huge AMVs or whatever, I might do simple little animations like this again in the future! (I say simple but I think I made this one needlessly complicated for myself when I was making it An upset-looking emoji.)

Angel has pale skin, pink hair, blue eyes and white wings. She's wearing a magenta top. She's resting her head on her fist and is looking wistfully into the distance. The background is purple with lilac clouds. The watermark reads Banana-Boots. The whole image has a noise filter over it.

This attack was for COOLBUNNY95! (Here's his Tumblr, its Twitter and buns Instagram) This attack is of his character, Angel!
She's so pretty.... Sometimes you just wanna draw a slightly sad-looking angel girl, y'know? (Also, why do I apparently have a thing for angel characters?? I can't even draw wings very well!) I tried to combine both that squishy style I used on Hannah and also this kind of... almost 90's anime inspired aesthetic. My style is miles from ever hitting that vibe but I feel like the colours and the noise filter gets it somewhere close. I'm really happy with how this one looks. There's something kind of nostalgic about it.

Lucia has light brown skin, blue eyes and purple pigtails. They're wearing a blue Cinnamoroll shirt, a pink skirt and purple fingerless gloves. Her outfit is decorated with lots of decora accessories. They're holding their phone in one hand as though they're taking a mirror selfie and their other hand is spread out next to their face. There is a yellow background and the watermark reads Banana-Boots.

This attack was for Captain_Mysterious37! (Here's his Tumblr, his Twitter, his Instagram and his Carrd) This attack is of his character, Lucia!
I love drawing decora fashion! It's always a bit of a pain because of all the accessories but it always looks so good! I'm a big fan of the purple and blue colour scheme Lucia has going on. I love the beaded necklaces they're wearing, I might have to do something like that next time I draw Soda in decora fashion (I'm getting a bit sidetracked now, though). Also, why does the Cinnamoroll look kind of like a knockoff version, y'know like those fake designer clothes and bags that are almost right but there's just something kinda off about them.

Marcus and Etta in the Magnus Institute's archives. They're surrounded by bookshelves and Etta is sitting on a table. Marcus holds up a blue butterfly that they both stare at with smiles on their faces. Marcus has dark skin and dark brown wavy hair with rainbow streaks. They have one green eye and one magenta one and he's wearing an orange jumper, jeans and purple trainers. Etta has pale skin, curly blonde hair and pointed fingers. Both of her eyes are half blue, half grey. Her left eye is split horizontally and the right one is split vertically. She's wearing a white t-shirt with a wave design over a long sleeved rainbow shirt. She's also wearing jeans decorated with butterflies, a blue gemstone necklace and green converse.

This attack was for CuppoTuffe and is of his character Marcus and my character Etta!
Look, sometimes you make a new TMA OC during ArtFight and want an excuse to draw her. I wanted to draw her with another Spiral avatar and Marcus caught my eye! I love their design and I think she looks super cool with Etta! Marcus has very, very slight Lyf from The Bifrost Incident vibes. I think that's just the dark skin and rainbow in the hair because, y'know, Lyf doesn't techically have a design (but dark skin is very common amongst Lyf designs and rainbow hair is, like, semi-common).

And that's all of them! Sorry if I've had progressively less and less to say about each attack, it's late and I'm tired but I really wanted to make this blog post (and I hadn't realised it would take me this long until I was already, like, halfway through). I hope you liked the attacks! Is it weird to say I'm excited for next ArtFight? Because I kind of am. Anyways, the next event I'll probably end up doing will be Mechtober, I think. I really enjoyed Mechtober last year and I can't wait to do it again! Okay, that's all I wanted to say, I think. I'm going to bed now, goodnight!
~Boots!