AKA I Watched the Wonka Movie Today and Want to Talk About It

A pink music note.Now listening to... You’ve Never Had Chocolate Like This (Hoverchocs) from the Wonka Soundtrack

A bar of chocolate.

Today I went and watched Wonka with my roommate. I’ll be honest, I didn’t have the highest hopes for the movie because I didn’t particularly think Timothée Chalamet was a good fit for the role but I went anyway because it was something to do and I thought Mathew Baynton and Hugh Grant would be fantastic in their roles.

It didn’t take me long to realise that not only is the music amazing and the visuals are beautiful, the story and Timothée Chalamet were way better than I had thought they would be. I had thought Timothée Chalamet wouldn’t be able to bring enough eccentricity and fun to the role and he doesn’t quite match the levels of previous Wonkas but I think he works just fine for this role. If he had been playing a Charlie and the Chocolate Factory era Wonka then I probably would’ve thought he was lacking but since this is a younger, less tested by time Wonka, I think he’s fine.

The entire soundtrack was amazing. I think I’ll be playing Scrub, Scrub and Sweet Tooth on repeat for a while. I also enjoyed the return of Pure Imagination and Oompa Loompa, especially the fact that Oompa Loompa included the little whistle melody used in, I believe, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, you know, the one with Gene Wilder. I kind of wish they’d put The Candyman in there somewhere but the songs that are in the movie are so good that I can’t really be mad.

I… did have more to say but I got a little distracted by listening to the Wonka soundtrack and so I don’t remember what I was going to say. Go watch Wonka! It’s good! Okay, that’s all, bye!
~ Boots